It’s About Time!

Last Monday, I received my third dose of my third round of taxol.  As a reminder, each round of taxol consists of treatment once a week for three weeks and then one week off.  During my first round I only received two out of three doses due to low white blood counts, but I received all three doses in rounds two and three, which was great. I will say, I found taxol to be quite tolerable – really can’t complain considering what you think chemo will be like.  Yes, I did lose my hair and I needed two blood transfusions, but other than that, I felt great.

Well, today I feel AMAZING!!!!  Why would I feel so great when it is so gross outside? Because I got a call from my nurse this morning saying the CT scan I had on Friday show the tumours in my liver have either shrunk or remained stable!!!!!  I’m not sure I can describe in words the feeling of joy, relief, hopefulness and positivity I feel right now after receiving such news.  Let me remind you that my last three scans before this one had shown progression requiring me to blow through a number of treatments that kept failing, and to be honest, my emotions were taking a beating.

Well, today is a new day.  I know taxol is not going to work forever, but for now it is and I will take that and embrace it.   I should mention that while it is working in my liver, there was mild progression in my bones, but they will treat that if I become symptomatic (meaning if I start to feel pain) with radiation.  Right now, I don’t feel any pain at all, so as far as I’m concerned, good news there too.

I have my actual appointment with my oncologist, Dr. Higgins, on Friday where I will get more details, if there are any, will do bloodwork to see if my body is ready for the next round of chemo (which I know it is), and then back in the chemo chair on Monday for round 4.

BRING IT ON!!!!!!!

5 responses to “It’s About Time!

  1. YES! YES! YES! I am so thrilled for you. Cancer can suck it. Love you tons. So so happy to hear this great news xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

