‘Never allow the fear of striking out keep you from playing the game’ – Babe Ruth

For as long as I can remember, baseball has always been my favourite sport.  I love the anticipation of what can result from each pitch.  I love the memories I have that involve the game.  I love the hot dogs.

Even though Toronto isn’t often thought to be a baseball town, I have been lucky to witness some incredible baseball moments right here in the 6ix.  As a young girl, my Dad took me to the first ever World Series game played north of the border, which included what should have been ruled a triple-play.  I remember how loud the crowd was and that my ears were ringing after that game.  Fast forward to last year’s American League Division Series and Bautista’s Bat Flip – being at that game was one of the most intense and exciting sporting events I have ever been to in my life!

‘You can’t sit on a lead and run a few plays into the line and just kill the clock. You’ve got to throw the ball over the goddamn plate and give the other man his chance. That’s why baseball is the greatest game of them all.’ – Earl Weaver, Manager, Baltimore Orioles

Could those two baseball experiences ever be topped for me?  Well, they just might be topped on this Mother’s Day.  Thanks to the Honorary Bat Girl Program ‘Going to Bat Against Breast Cancer’ introduced by MLB in 2009, thanks to my best-friend for nominating me in this year’s contest, thanks to everyone who took a moment out of their day to vote for me, and thanks to the judges, I am beyond excited to finally say that I am this year’s Honorary Bat Girl for the Toronto Blue Jays!!!!

Would I rather this contest didn’t even have to exist or that I didn’t qualify to enter – of course! But the reality is too many women of all ages are being diagnosed with breast cancer and unfortunately, I am one of them.  So thank you MLB for continuing to raise awareness around this horrible disease and for partnering with organizations like Stand Up to Cancer and Susan G. Komen to hopefully one day put an end to cancer – of any kind – once and for all.

I can’t thank my BFF enough for taking the time to prepare my submission and continue to encourage votes everyday while educating people about breast cancer.  And to everyone who voted once, multiple times or everyday – thank you, thank you, thank you!  Our days are busy, and even if it took only a moment or two to vote, you still used that free minute or two out of your day to vote for me.  And most importantly, for all the women who were nominated across the league – thank you for continuing to be absolutely amazing!  I have read many many submissions, and while these women are faced with side-effects of treatment, symptoms of the disease, financial impact that comes with cancer, and not to mention the emotional roller-coaster, they continue to manage their families, careers and do great things to support other women with breast cancer.

For those of you who follow me on social media, I apologize now for all the photos and videos I may post about this.  I know it is going to be an incredible day.  Thanks to sponsors of the event – Majestic Athletic, Louisville Slugger, Dooney & Bourke, Franklin Sports, I am sure there will be many moments where I will forget why I even qualify to be there – it won’t be about breast cancer, rather I will just be a mom on Mother’s Day, enjoying the game (and maybe a hot dog) at the ballpark with family and friends.

P.S. I know there’s no crying in baseball, but I can’t make any promises I won’t be a blubbering mess!

Leave a Reply

