She’s Bald? She’s Bald!

Looks like I’ll be bald for the summer – and I’m thrilled about it!!!!

Why?  Because today I got a call from my nurse who had the results from the CT scan I had earlier this week.  This will be my second scan since starting on taxol in December.  As a reminder, my first scan was in February and showed regression.  And guess what?  So did this scan!!!!!!  I’m sooooooooo happy, relieved, confident, motivated, the list can go on and on!

So this means I will remain on my current chemo treatment and I will be wearing hats and bandanas for the Summer.  No waxing and shaving required for this girl!

I should say that my current chemo treatment has changed slightly.  While I have been on taxol since December, two rounds ago I experienced a pretty bad reaction to the drug.  About five minutes after they began the chemo infusion my whole body went super red and hot, it felt like an elephant was sitting on my chest and my head was going to pop off.  Nothing a little more Benadryl can’t fix!  After giving me more Benadryl, they were able to give me the rest of my chemo.  Unfortunately the same thing happened the next week.  After meeting with my oncologist, he was able to switch me to a drug which is quite expensive and not covered… unless you react to taxol.  So, this new chemo drug (Abraxane) is the same, just formulated differently. and means no pre-meds and no reactions.

That’s about it for my medical update!

Personally, the Riccios have also been quite busy since my last post:

  • On Mother’s Day, I was proud to represent all ladies, young and old, who have been dealt the breast cancer card.  Thanks to friends, family and people I don’t even know, I was selected as the Honorary Bat Girl for the Toronto Blue Jays.  What an experience it was to walk on the field with Mike and Taylor and then be presented with a jersey from Happ (who is currently pitching a one-hitter as I type this) and a bouquet of roses from Ace.  To be honest, I didn’t really hear the announcement as all that was going through my mind was “do I have my arm around Happ’s waist too tight, have I left it there too long?”  I do recall people in the crowd standing and clapping during the announcement, at which point I started to well up, but surprisingly, I held it together.  I was also honoured to meet two of the other finalist – two wonderful ladies dealing with breast cancer but having a great time at the game.

    Toronto recognizes Bat Girl Riccio’s courage

  • The following day, Mike, Taylor and I left for Disney.  What an amazing trip we had!  With only one major meltdown, I can say the trip was close to perfect.  All three of us had so much fun.  From the rides, to meals with characters, to the fireworks and pool time at the hotels, we couldn’t have asked for a better vacation – it really is the most magical place on Earth.

    IMG_4032

  • We planted our garden.  For those of you who follow me on social media saw that some of us worked a little harder than others…

IMG_3823

  • And finally, my little cousin got married!

IMG_20160611_164837344

I think that brings me up-to-date on everything.  Thank you to everyone for all your continued support, love, prayers, good vibes, and positive thoughts.  I now look forward to enjoying the rest of the summer with family and friends.  As school starts to come to an end for another year, I hope everyone has a wonderful, safe and healthy summer!

3 responses to “She’s Bald? She’s Bald!

  1. Your strength and positivity continues to inspire me. I’m so happy to hear you’re doing well! Your pics are beautiful!!
    Have a FABULOUS summer!! 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi Michelle, always good to hear the updates, especially when it is positive. Have a wonderful summer with your family – love that dress on you!!
    Dora xxxxoooo

    Like

Leave a Reply

